A Tsunami warning has been issued for Honduras,The Cayman Islands, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Honduras, Cuba and Belize following a magnitude 7.6 earthquake that struck in the Caribbean Sea on Tuesday night.

The quake was recorded between the coast of Honduras and the Cayman Islands. There were no early reports of damage on land. Tsunami warning centers said no tsunami waves had been confirmed but stress that people in Puerto Rico, other Caribbean islands and the coast of Central America should be alert to the danger of possible tsunami.

The U.S. Geological Survey measured the quake at a preliminary magnitude of 7.6. The tremor struck in the sea about 125 miles (202 kilometers) north-northeast of Barra Patuca, Honduras, and 188 miles (303 kilometers) southwest of George Town, Cayman Islands. The tremor occurred about 6 miles (10 kilometers) below the surface.

The northern coast of Honduras closest to the quake’s epicenter is sparsely populated, with much of it covered by nature reserves. Some people in the capital of Tegucigalpa said they did not feel the tremor.

President Juan Orlando Hernandez via Twitter said that Honduras had activated its emergency system and asked people to remain calm.

Meanwhile, Jamaica’s Prime Minister Andrew Holness says The Office of Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management (ODPEM) is working with it international partners and are keenly monitoring the situation.

Mayor of Kingston, Delroy William also issued an advisory on social media encouraging all persons in flood-prone and low lying areas to stay tuned to the media for updates.